For card payments, you can pre-authorise a card to reserve funds before you capture and process the payment at a later date.
You have to capture the funds before the authorisation expires, and you can view the expiry date for an authorised payment on the Payment Details page. Once the authorisation expires, the reserved funds are released and the payment will show an Expired status. You will no longer be able to capture the funds when a payment expires.
What you need to know in advance
- You can only create one capture per payment.
- If you capture less than the authorised amount, the remaining amount will be released.
Capturing an authorised payment
- In your Mollie Dashboard, find the authorised payment you want to capture.
- Click Create capture in the top right corner.
- Choose the amount you want to capture.
- You cannot capture more than the authorised amount.
- (Optional) Add a description for the capture.
- Click Capture to complete the process.
Once the capture is processed, the status of the payment will change to Paid.
Cancelling an authorised payment
If you wish to release the authorisation, you can cancel the payment. You will no longer be able to capture the funds when you have cancelled the payment.
- In your Mollie Dashboard, find the payment you want to cancel.
- Click Cancel payment in the top right corner.
- Click Yes to confirm the cancellation.
The status of the payment will change to Cancelled and you can no longer capture it.